RSS

Bloggers Beware

03 May

There are law agencies across the United States that have decided to enforce copyright laws that appear on-line for a huge profit. This means if you copy and paste a photo you can be subjected to a $150,000 fine or higher depending on what they think you should pay. This also includes articles, summaries of news releases, photos, etc.

This is for real as I personally know someone who received a legal letter stating they used a copyright photo without their clients permission. Along with this letter was a bill for $2,500. This fellow blogger could not believe it and removed the photo immediately from his blog. However, the letter also stated that removing the image did not release him from the damages he caused by using the photo.

I had my friend look up where he obtained the photo, it was from a website that disclaimed the photos were free to use. But these companies are slick. They find out what photo you have and then they copyright it and slap you with a copyright infringement suite.

This is a sad, sad day for bloggers around the world as money hungry attorneys seek easy money. For this reason my blogs may seem rather bland as I try to obtain my own original photos for my articles. I will not be posting any photos or content unless I have permission. Please be sure to read this article: http://www.nytimes.com/2011/05/03/business/media/03righthaven.html?ref=technology

 
8 Comments

Posted by on May 3, 2011 in New Article, News Article

 

Tags:

8 responses to “Bloggers Beware

  1. charlesmichelduke

    May 4, 2011 at 4:24 am

    Or just be poor like me and bareface the lawyers. Are they really going to go after someone who technically have very few assets. For example, they could have my motorbike aka ‘the rust bucket’…

     
    • Craig & Joe Ardolino

      May 4, 2011 at 1:22 pm

      These companies will send a few letters out with a bill to settle out of court for anywhere between $1,500 to $4,000 and state that if you do this and remove the image or article or whatever, they will drop the $150,000 fee. Some people may feel this is a deal since a copyright attorney runs $10 – 20,000.

      The idea is, if they get 0.50% of the US population (1,535,032.75 people) to pay them a minimum of $1,500, they will make $2,302,549,125.

      That is a lot of money. I don’t know what the figure is of current bloggers or even websites that use copyright material, but even if only 0.25% of bloggers paid the fee, your talking a great deal of money with little to no outlay. I have seen these letters and they put the fear factor into you.

      Guess we’ll see what happens. It is sad either way.

       
  2. Don't Make That Face

    May 4, 2011 at 11:17 am

    Really? Geeeez! I guess I’ll be doing the samething. Oh man. That also means I’m going to have to plan my posts? Really? I usually just slap them together in a few minutes. With all of these rules this blogging thing is beginning to feel like work. I hate work.

     
    • Craig & Joe Ardolino

      May 4, 2011 at 1:24 pm

      I couldn’t agree more. I had fun searching for photos that matched my content, and don’t feel this is fair. But what else can we do? If I was slapped with a fine, I’d have to pay for an attorney which would cost me money. I’ll see how this plays out and keep the content I publish my own. Really sucks, this does.

       
  3. in every atom

    May 5, 2011 at 7:10 pm

    This is sad and worse than the recent legal attacks against poor Joe and Jane Does for music downloads, and Joe and Jane actually lost in those battles. I would be like you, very cautious; no point inviting trouble. Carry your camera with you and click some photos when you are out and about. That should give you enough fodder for your blog posts. Your writing is what brings me to your blog. 🙂

     
    • Craig & Joe Ardolino

      May 6, 2011 at 6:56 am

      Thanks. I created the blog so I could share my short stories and opinions. I just feel bad that so many people will receive these harassment letters and will be forced to pay these money-hungry people. Hopefully word will get out before they get rich.

       
  4. thepetalpusher

    September 29, 2011 at 6:21 pm

    This is very sad. It’s all about greed and money. What is happening to this country? I’m glad i take my own photos . . .

     
    • Craig & Joe Ardolino

      October 2, 2011 at 5:45 pm

      I take my own now, or have special release to use photos. But it was fun finding photos that matched my short stories.

       

Leave a Reply

 
