RSS

Making Tea

17 Oct

I grew upon the east end of Long Island, New York, but my family came to America from England. More specifically from Coventry. Needless to say, I grew up drinking tea. But with the invention of the microwave, I have spend the last twenty years heating up my water by nuking it, then dropping in a tea bag.

Grandma also frowned upon this method of making tea. Her tea needed to be made via a kettle. Who has time for that? So every day I nuke my water, drop in the bag and off I go.

Well, this does not work when your camping, so I bought my fist kettle in about twenty years. I tested it at home and BEHOLD!

My, God! The sound of the kettle whistling brought back sooo many memories of my childhood. I put the tea bag in the china mug and poured in the water, let it sit and then took a sip. It was like a taste of heaven! How could a kettle change the taste so much?

Tea is just 100 times better when brewed the old fashioned way, now I understand why grandma frowned so often and why she made my mother buy a kettle for when she visits.

Above is my new kettle, I had to buy another one for camping, because I prefer the time-honored way of brewing! I am positive that my friend Charles The Blog of El Director! will understand what I am talking about. That is if he doesn’t yell at me for nuking my tea!

So remember. Time honored brewing is 100% better 🙂

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 17, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “Making Tea

  1. charlesmichelduke

    October 18, 2011 at 10:14 pm

    I think you should be spanked for using a microwave to make tea 😉

    Good to see you have ‘rediscovered’ the civilised way to making tea. Now to consume more of the stuff! I always listen to my elders, especially in matters of the kitchen…

     
  2. in every atom

    October 20, 2011 at 2:35 am

    And charles is not the only one who is going to scold you. Tea is a big part of Indian culture too. But I will spare you the scolding, because you have finally learned the ‘old fashioned’ ways and rituals of tea. I am just a little sad that you did not discover it 20 years earlier. And the best part is, you will feel connected to your family each time you make tea.

     

Leave a Reply

 
