RSS

Going Ape

02 Apr

I absolutely love primates. Literally, I can sit and watch these creatures all day and not get bored. There is just something about these fellow tellurians that strums an inner cord in me. Anyway, there is a state park about twenty miles away from me and we took a small two day camping trip. We’ve been to the Silver River State Park before, and I had posted a blog about this trip as well.

What I did not know, is across the river a troop of Wild Rhesus Monkeys live. I took tons of photos, but only three of them were good enough to make smartphone wallpapers out of. Being across the river I could not get close enough and had to shoot between the foliage. Monkeys do move quite fast, so I am happy with the photos I got.

Amazingly, these monkey’s are found in Asia where they are from, in lower South Carolina, USA where they had escaped from a science lab and in Ocala, Florida, USA, where a tour-boat owner thought it would add excitement to his jungle tour and put these monkeys on a small island. Unfortunately, he did not realize that monkeys can swim! There is another, local legend, that during the filming of a Tarzan movie, a group of Rhesus monkeys escaped and bred in the wild.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on April 2, 2012 in Camping, iPhone, Photo, Rhesus Monkey, Wallpaper

 

Tags: , , , ,

4 responses to “Going Ape

  1. charlesmichelduke

    April 4, 2012 at 10:04 am

    I think that is fantastic that a bunch of monkeys escaped from a lab. Good for them, and good to see them thriving too!

     
    • Craig & Joe

      April 4, 2012 at 7:04 pm

      I am glad they escaped too, but some local politicians want to round them up, sterialize them, then release them to live out there lives. The monkeys don’t bother anyone, I say leave them alone. But if they do pass the vote I pray that the monkeys will suddenly have a population boom and spread themselves across the whole state!

       
  2. in every atom

    April 5, 2012 at 1:53 am

    I love the 2nd photo, the monkey looks so wise and almost human. I love the story of these monkeys. So nice to see how universally beloved “freedom” is. In India, we have the monkey god, Hanuman, who lived during a very advanced age called treta yuga, when humans and animals were able to communicate with one another.

     
    • Craig & Joe

      April 9, 2012 at 4:42 pm

      I never heard of Hanuman. Maybe I am from the treta yuga age since I love monkeys so much. I am going to be sure to read up on this advanced age. Thanks 🙂 Next month I will be going to Animal Kingdom (again), I love the monkeys and great apes. The apes so such intelligence in their eyes. . .

       

Leave a Reply

 
