RSS

My Hiatus

17 Aug

Sorry for the recent break I’ve taken. It is the time of year when I start thinking of the Holidays and begin preparing gifts. I have recently started working on making Christmas ornaments, small horse heads for the Christmas Tree. What really got me was the thought of making a box to put them in. Below are photos of the prototype, which is almost complete. Once done I will make two more, one for my aunt and one for my mom’s neighbor. When my dad passed away this past January, her neighbors helped my mom out so much that I wanted to make something special for them. Hence, the creation of the horse ornaments and box.

I will be making several other types of ornament/box combinations as the months progress.

Closed Box

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Open cover with view of inside

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 ornaments taken out

 

There will be a total of six ornaments per box. They still need to be completed and have the gold string attached so they can hang from the tree branches.

 

 

 

 

 

Closeup of ornaments

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 17, 2011 in Woodworking Project

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “My Hiatus

  1. in every atom

    August 18, 2011 at 12:52 am

    Wow, these are amazing. So delicate and strong too. Is there anything you can’t do? You write stories, know software stuff, and do wood carvings! Are these made by hand or by machine? Either is hard to do.
    And my condolences on your dad’s passing away. Hope your mom and you are getting along well by now. Keeping you and loved ones in my prayers.

     
    • Craig & Joe

      August 18, 2011 at 12:36 pm

      Thanks for your kind words. I guess I’m kindof a Jack-of-all-Trades. It would be great if I can Master one that makes me some money :)!!!

      Just kidding, I find great joy and peace in making things for other people, or helping others in any way I can. Money cannot compare to the inner joy. These were made with a combination of machine and hand.

      Thanks for your condolences, it is very difficult to lose someone, but his spirit is in a better place now.

       

Leave a comment