RSS

Abortion Rights?

22 Aug

Abortion.

Just one word, it doesn’t need any verbs or modifiers. It is a word that stands alone and instantly stirs conflicting emotions in people the moment they read it. It is also a word that has been involved in the political arena for as long as I can remember. The first time I heard the word had to be in the late seventies and my association with it was images on the news about a bombing at an abortion clinic. I do remember asking my mom what an abortion clinic was, but honestly cannot remember her answer.

The second time was also associated with images. But this time it was a movie, some type of American Western and may have had Clint Eastwood in it, although I’m not 100% certain about that. But I do recall the scene. A woman (madam) coming down the rickety stairs with a red-stained coat hanger, and informing the people below that she didn’t make it. I was old enough at the time to form a very vague hypothesis of my own.

Throughout my life I have learned more about the word, its meaning, implications, and religious ramifications. But I am a creature that is always categorizing things in my head and somehow stumbling onto new ideas, or learning new things to add to the ever growing file cabinet in my mind. I do know that women have been using forms of birth control and ways to abort an unwanted or difficult pregnancy dating back to a time many millennia before the church’s existence.

In fact, the earliest recorded account is from the Middle Kingdom of Pharaonic Egypt and is dated around 1800 BC! This is a medical papyrus manuscript written by the Egyptians. However, abortion and birth control may date back as far as the early Homo Sapiens. Their knowledge of plants and medical botany was extensive. Even I know of eight plants that I can turn into a tea for controlling conception to prematurely aborting a fetus. An excellent source of information on early humans, can be obtained by reading an enjoyable series of books belonging to The Clan of the Cave Bear, by Jean M. Auel. She has done extensive research on this era and the books are full of facts.

So for thousands of years, women have been in control of pregnancy. I firmly believe that women kept most of the information regarding birth control and abortion from men. Not because they had something to hide, but because from conception to birth, women helped women. Men would have no way of knowing what to do, or how to help unless they were a healer or a medicine man; and most men in those sacred positions were homosexuals as they were believed to encompass both the male and female spirits which provided them with powers beyond the everyday people.

For open-minded people this makes sense, especially when you look at the earliest known legal ban on abortion. The 11th century BCE Code of Assura imposes the death penalty on married women who procure abortions without the permission of their husbands.

So there you have it.

This brings me to my view on the matter, and we can skip all the rest of history as nothing has changed since the 11th century. It was men that wrote into law that an abortion could not be done, unless it was with their permission. Abortion at one time was considered un-sinful if performed by the 16th week. Regardless, it was men that added text to the bible regarding abortion as there was absolutely no mention of it in the original bible.

Although I am a man, I firmly believe that men created this law so they could continue to maintain dominance over the female species. I’m sure on a certain psychological level the men knew this was wrong, so the next logical step was to pin the blame on someone else, which just happened to be God. So they incorporated abortion as sin with the penalty of spending eternity in hell if a woman received an abortion.

Today’s politicians are no different. This is not about religion, this is about control. A man has no right to impose restrictions on a woman’s right to her own body. And rape. How appalling to have an elected official state that legitimate rape does not create conception because a woman’s body knows how to defend against such an intrusion.

Are you for real!

The Republican Party is set to change the United States Constitution to make abortions illegal even in cases of rape and incest! So if a woman is raped, not only does she have to bear the painful emotional scars for life, but has to carry the pregnancy for nine horrible months! Nine months of a constant reminder of the rape-night. Nine months of torcher. The physiological implications of this will be devastating to the human mind.

My God! How evil can man be? Why punish a woman like this? Would you really want to see your daughter be tortured like this? Have you no heart? Where is your compassion?

Okay, so now we must face the music and the religious backlash.

First of all, I’m a very spiritual person and know without-a-shadow-of-a-doubt that a supreme being exists. I have seen Him twice in my life. The first encounter I explain on my page: A Spiritual Wonder. I also crossed-over once and had a second encounter in heaven. I know what the Lord is like and what heaven is like, and I can tell you from personal experience that if you believe in God, you have to believe from within. Trust me, it is easier said, then done.

The bible? Well, it was written by man. It was edited by man. Whole sections have been inserted by man, like in the abortion reference above. The original story of love, compassion, joy and enlightenment has been lost. Too many people use it as a way to wield hate and shackle us with sin. To think of God as a static being totally undermines Him. How can the Creator of all life, of the whole universe and everything in it be static? God changes as everything He created changes, nothing stands still, not even in space. The whole point of us being here on Earth is to grow spiritually, to learn lessons to better our spirit for the next level of existence. You need to learn to know God from within!

Enough about religion. I am not here to change your belief. But understand it is your belief, so please spare me pages of comments about how anti-Christian, or anti-Catholic I am for saying the things I’ve said. I do not need bible quotes and verses. I know them all, and they mean nothing to me because I Know God’s Greatness.

My only hope in writing this Blog, is to explain how wrong it is to allow a small percentage of people to take away a woman’s right to obtain an abortion. This does not mean I believe that woman should get abortions just for the heck-of-it, because life is sacred, it is one of the greatest miracles. We need to educate our children on ways to prevent pregnancy safely. We need to teach them the fundamentals of safe-sex. Which, by the way, is NOT an act of sin (I honestly don’t know where they came up with this stuff), sex is a natural part of love and humanity, regardless of gender or orientation, just as it is in the animal kingdom.

Finally, if this Republican Constitutional Draft becomes closer to reality (shudder), I propose a counter measure to insure woman will never get raped again, or have forced incest encounters. Ready? I propose that all men be implanted with a chip or chemical that will not allow them to have any sexual desire unless they first go to a clinic and document who they wish to have sex with and when. The clinic can then allow the chip or chemical to hibernate for X amount of hours. I feel it is only fair to take away a man’s right if he is so willing to take away a woman’s right.

In closing, I wish to say my view on abortion is my view. I am not here to change your political or biblical views as you are free to believe whatever it is that makes you happy, just don’t impose it on the rest of us. This was not written with any intention to offend anyone, so if you are offended I am sorry, but life in can be offensive if you are unwilling to change or be open-minded.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 22, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Abortion Rights?

  1. charlesmichelduke

    September 2, 2012 at 12:02 pm

    As a man, I also feel it is not my place to comment on abortion, it is not my body. You have two conflicting premises, the life of the child and the life of the mother. And I really believe that any woman in a position to consider an abortion is not there happily.

    I am pro-choice. And the main reason is that it is safer. If a woman wants an abortion, she will get it, no matter what. It is safer for all parties, that the procedure is done safely, with proper attention to medical safeguards.

    Such a decision is a difficult one for a woman to make. Abortion must not be made dangerous by petty laws written by people (and yes, mainly men) who have no clue of the situation.

    A well written post, and sadly in your country, the issue is used as fodder for electioneering.

     
    • Craig & Joe.

      September 2, 2012 at 5:26 pm

      Thanks for the reply. It is such an ugly subject and I disliked writing it, but feel that it needs to be told. I am pro-choice as well, and agree that anyone that is going in for an abortion is not happy about it. So true that in America it is used for political gain.

       

Leave a comment